ATH: Hofstra Athletics Hosts Successful Hall Of Fame Induction And Golf Outing

Hempstead, NY – The Hofstra University Department of Athletics held its 2022 Hall of Fame Induction and Golf Outing, offered by Signature Bank, final Monday (June 13) at The Seawane Club in Hewlett Harbor, New York. The occasion is the most important fundraiser of the 12 months for the athletics program, with all proceeds going to profit the student-athlete expertise at Hofstra.

In addition to an attractive day for golf, Hofstra Athletics celebrated the excellent careers and accomplishments of Liz Curley (Messmer) (volleyball), John Danowski (males’s lacrosse coach), Bridget Eder Harris (ladies’s lacrosse), Charles Jenkins (males’s basketball), Cindy Lewis (administrator), and Laura Walker-Karson (ladies’s tennis) by inducting them into the Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame.

The Hofstra Athletics Pride Club offered a pair of awards to a few devoted supporters of Hofstra Athletics. Dr. Beth Rosenberg was the recipient of the Jack Lenz Award, whereas Anthony and Catharine Perettine acquired the Joseph M. Margiotta Distinguished Service Award. 

“The Hall of Fame Induction and Golf Outing is always a special day for Hofstra Athletics,” mentioned Hofstra Vice President and Director of Athletics Rick Cole Jr. “Getting to spend a day on the course with friends and supporters of our program, followed by an evening of celebrating the accomplishments of our past all-time greats with the Hall of Fame induction ceremony. It does not get any better than that.” 


In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions and Pride Club Service Awards, a number of golfers earned awards for his or her accomplishments on the course. The workforce of Dr. Russell Camhi, Roger Gerland, Elizabeth Irving, and Peter Lom posted the highest workforce rating with a 63. Doug Gannon had the longest drive for the boys, whereas Bella Totino was the ladies’s lengthy drive winner. Jennifer Mone (Hole 5), Bob Herber (Hole 8), Mike Ryan (Hole 11), and John Gorman (Hole 14) every gained awards for being closest to the pin.

Hofstra Athletics want to thank the next sponsors for his or her beneficiant help of the 2022 Hall of Fame Induction and Golf Outing:


Title Sponsor: Tony Perettine and Signature Bank

Platinum Sponsor: Jose Rodriguez and Compass Group USA

Platinum Sponsor: The Commencement Group

Brunch Sponsor: Mike Ryan and The LandTek Group

Reception Sponsor: W.B. Mason

Cocktail Sponsor: Tom McBrady and Liberty Coke

Golfer Gift Sponsor: Robert Smalley and Sports Depot



Leave a Comment